Collection of Rhizosphere Microorganisms of
the Institute of Biochemistry and Physiology of Plants and Microorganisms,
Russian Academy of Sciences (IBPPM RAS)
About the collection
The collection of nonpathogenic microorganisms held at the IBPPM RAS was established in 1981 and has now been transformed into a Collection of Rhizosphere Microorganisms. It is registered with the World Federation for Culture Collections (WFCC), no. 975, and with the World Data Centre for Microorganisms (WDCM), no. 1021. The collection has about 300 rhizospheric bacterial strains, including members of the genera Acidovorax, Aeromonas, Agrobacterium, Alcaligenes, Aquaspirillum, Arthrobacter, Azospirillum, Bradyrhizobium, Brevundimonas, Comamonas, Ensifer, Enterobacter, Erwinia, Herbaspirillum, Kocuria, Micrococcus, Moraxella, Mycobacterium, Nocardioides, Paenibacillus, Pectobacterium, Pimelobacter, Pseudomonas, Rhizobium, Rhodococcus, Sinorhizobium, and Xanthomonas. The strains were isolated from 175 sites in different regions of Russia, Belgium, Brazil, Ecuador, India, Iraq, Germany, Japan, Lithuania, New Zealand, Pakistan, Portugal, Tajikistan, Taiwan, the UK, and the USA.

The basis of the collection is formed by bacteria of the genus Azospirillum (143 strains), most of which were isolated from the rhizosphere of wild and cultivated cereals (wheat, rye, oat, millet, maize, sorghum, etc) during expeditions to the Saratov region. The assembled collection is Russia’s largest repository of Azospirillum strains. At the IBPPM RAS, azospirilla serve as a major model object for basic studies of the molecular mechanisms responsible for plant–microbe interactions. In recent years, the collection has been supplemented with new strains of plant-growth-promoting bacterial degraders of petroleum hydrocarbons, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, and glyphosate, as well as with bacteria resistant to heavy metals and arsenic.
Staff members
  • Professor Olga Turkovskaya, D. Sc. (Biol.), Head of Collection
  • Ekaterina Dubrovskaya, Ph.D. (Biol.), Curator
  • Anna Muratova, D. Sc. (Biol.), Bacteriologist
  • Sergey Golubev, Ph.D. (Biol.), Bacteriologist
  • Anastasia Bondarenkova, Ph.D. (Biol.), Bacteriologist